Aug 16, 2016



Over this past weekend, more than 430 drivers gathered in Indianapolis at the Indiana Convention Center to compete in the National Truck Driving Championship. This “Super Bowl of Safety” annually draws in drivers from all over the country, where contestants compete in different categories ranging from written examinations to a driving obstacle course.

Originally known as the National Truck Rodeo, this competition began in 1937 and has been consistently hosted by American Trucking Associations. This annual competition encourages drivers to operate safely, as contestants will be disqualified if they are involved in a vehicle accident one year prior to the event. Some of the more prestigious awards competitors contend for are the Professional Excellence Award, the Vehicle Condition Award, the Rookie of the Year Award and the Grand Champion Award.

The premise of the event strongly aligns with Omnitracs’ focus on safety and productivity, so Omnitracs is pleased to be a proud sponsor of the National Truck Driving Championship. Our business’s commercial truck driver safety applications are designed to keep vehicles, drivers, cargo, and reputations safe, and Omnitracs deeply respects the contestants who have logged millions of accident-free miles under their belts.

The winners of the National Truck Driving Championship were announced yesterday, August 15th.

Below, they are as listed by category:

  • 3-Axle: Mike White, Nineveh, Indiana, Walmart Transportation
  • 4-Axle: Ronald Metternick, Lowell, Michigan, FedEx Freight
  • 5-Axle: Toby Kort, Aurora, Nebraska, FedEx Freight
  • Flatbed: Jay Love, Davis, South Dakota, FedEx Freight
  • Sleeper Berth: Larry Breen, Bushnell, Florida, Walmart Transportation
  • Straight Truck: Charles Randolph, Belle, West Virginia, PITT OHIO
  • Tank Truck: Jeffrey Langenhahn, Plover, Wisconsin, XPO Logistics
  • Twins: Chris Poynor, Richland, Washington, XPO Logistics
  • Step Van: Frank Woods, Shawsville, Virginia, FedEx Express

Individual and team awards were also announced:

  • Rookie of the Year: Richard Merich, Lochbuie, Colorado, FedEx Freight
  • Team Champions: South Carolina
  • Vehicle Condition: William Pudney, Minneapolis, Minnesota, FedEx Express
  • Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence: Charles Woodland, Surprise, Arizona, FedEx Freight
  • Lifetime Volunteer Award: Chris Ignowski, CDS, FedEx Ground

Congratulations to all who participated!

Photo courtesy ATA at


Opinions expressed in the content posted here are the personal opinions of the original authors, and do not necessarily reflect those of Omnitracs, LLC or its subsidiaries ("Omnitracs"). The content is provided for informational purposes only and is not meant to be an endorsement or representation by Omnitracs or any other party. This site may also provide links or references to non-Omnitracs sites and resources. Omnitracs makes no representations, warranties, or other commitments whatsoever about any non-Omnitracs sites or third-party resources that may be referenced, accessible from, or linked to this site.